

Call for Nominations: Fellows of The Combustion Institute

Released: 1 July 2024

Members of the international combustion community recognized by their peers as distinguished for outstanding contributions to combustion, whether it be in research or in applications, may be designated Fellows of The Combustion Institute. This lifetime honorific title confers no special rights, privileges or duties. The annual award is recognized at each International Symposium on Combustion when all newly-elected Fellows will be acknowledged. Elected Fellows of The Combustion Institute may use the acronym FCI next to their name.

Nominations

To be eligible for nomination, a candidate must have been a member of The Combustion Institute for at least the previous five years; and an active participant in The Combustion Institute, as evidenced by activities such as the publishing of papers in CI-affiliated journals, attendance at the International Symposia on Combustion, and/or attendance at CI Section meetings. Nominations are submitted by a nominator and two supporters, all of whom must be members of The Combustion Institute. For industry-based nominees, one supporting letter may be provided by a non-member if necessary to provide crucial information/support. For technology-based nominees, the nomination package should explain how the nominee was the creator, the lead contributor, or a key contributor to a major advance or advances in combustion technology. Self-nominations are not accepted. No member of the Fellows Selection Committee may nominate or support a candidate.

To be accepted for consideration, all nominations require:

- Completion of all fields in the online nomination portal, or if submitting by email, the completion of the Fellow Nomination Cover Page
- A nominating letter and no more than two support letters (two pages maximum each)*
- Curriculum vitae; a list of the most impactful papers published in CI affiliated journals**; a list of other selected papers (ten papers maximum); a statement about involvement in International Symposia on Combustion and CI Section meetings; for technology-based nominees, an explanation of how the nominee was the creator, lead contributor, or a key contributor to a major advance(s) in combustion technology; and a citation of at most 20 words (four pages maximum)*

*A font size of at least 11 pt. or 12 pt. is recommended, but no smaller than 10 pt. should be used.

**CI-affiliated journals are: Proceedings of The Combustion Institute, Combustion and Flame, Combustion Theory and Modelling, Combustion Science and Technology, Progress in Energy and Combustion Science, and Applications in Energy and Combustion Science.

You can submit nominations via The Combustion Institute **website** or by email to **office@combustioninstitute.org** by **23:59 EDT, 30 September 2024**. Instructions on how to use the AMS nomination submission portal can be found on the **CI website**. Each nomination remains active for three consecutive years, with the nominator being given the opportunity to update the nomination package.

Submissions that do not adhere to the above instructions will not be accepted. Questions regarding submissions should be directed to office@combustioninstitute.org.

Elected Fellows will be announced in March 2025.

Call for Nominations: Fellows of The Combustion Institute

Fellows Selection Committee

The Fellows Selection Committee is charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees each year and select candidates to become Fellows. The committee consists of esteemed members appointed by the President in consultation with the Executive Committee. Members of the Selection Committee have agreed to serve staggered terms over a three-year cycle.

The following is a list of committee members based on term length:

Term Ends in 2025

André Boehman, University of Michigan, United States Tina Kasper, Paderborn University, Germany Eric Petersen, Texas A&M University, United States Youngbin Yoon, Seoul National University, Republic of Korea

Term Ends in 2026

Josette Bellan, California Institute of Technology, United States

Yiguang Ju, Princeton University, United States

Patrizia Minutolo, CNR - STEMS, Italy

Sandra Olson, NASA, United States

Term Ends in 2027

Gaby Ciccarelli, Queen's University, Canada Sergey Dorofeev, FM Global, United States Aamir Farooq, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia Markus Kraft, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom Hope A. Michelsen, University of Colorado, Boulder, United States Uwe Riedel, Brandenburg University of Technology and German Aerospace Center (DLR), Germany Jinhua Sun, University of Science and Technology of China, China Mamoru Tanahashi, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

More information about the selection process and a complete list of Fellows can be found on the Fellows of The Combustion Institute page of the CI website.