

# Call for Nominations: Gold Medals of The Combustion Institute

Released: 15 January 2018

Gold medals are the highest awards of The Combustion Institute, presented biennially during the International Symposium on Combustion. The four gold medals are bestowed to scientists whose major contributions have significantly advanced their fields of combustion science.

#### **Bernard Lewis Gold Medal**

Recognizes brilliant research in the field of combustion.

#### Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal

Recognizes distinguished, continuing, and encouraging contributions to the field of combustion.

#### Ya B. Zeldovich Gold Medal

Recognizes outstanding contributions to theories of combustion.

## Jürgen Warnatz Gold Medal

Recognizes exceptional scientific contributions having a major impact on combustion applications or combustion research.

#### **Nominations**

Members are encouraged to nominate deserving colleagues. Please submit the following nomination materials:

- A nomination letter no greater than 400 words that describes the candidate's qualifications.
- Up to four supporting letters.
- A citation of up to 20 words of the candidate's qualifications for an award.
- A two-page curriculum vitae and a list of publications.
- Electronic copies of five publications that best demonstrate why the candidate is qualified to receive a gold medal. Include a short comment of about one page regarding the merits of these selected publication.
- Submit nominations to The Combustion Institute: Office@CombustionInstitute.org.
   Subject line: Gold Medal Nomination Package.

Nominations Deadline: Submission must be received before 23:59 EST, 25 February 2018.

**Medal Assignments**: The Gold Medal Selection Committee will undertake a review of nominations with consideration for the scientific quality, originality, and independence of research. The committee chair sets the parameters of the committee's evaluation and assignment of medals. (*Nominations may designate a specific gold medal for a candidate, but the Gold Medal Selection Committee ultimately determines medal assignments.*)

**Questions or suggestions** regarding potential nominations may be directed to The Combustion Institute:

Office@CombustionInstitute.org, or to the Gold Medal Nomination Committee Chair, John Mantzaras, Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland: ioannis.mantzaras@psi.ch.

# Call for Nominations: Gold Medals of The Combustion Institute

### **Gold Medal Nomination Committee**

The committee is charged with the responsibility to solicit nominations of worthy candidates from the international combustion community.

John Mantzaras, Chair, Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland Nabiha Chaumeix, CNRS - Orleans , France Osamu Fujita, Hokkaido University, Japan Ömer Gülder, University of Toronto, Canada Tina Kasper, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany Tianfeng Lu, University of Connecticut, United States Angela Violi, University of Michigan, United States Youngbin Yoon, Seoul National University, Korea

## **Gold Medals Descriptions**

#### **Bernard Lewis Gold Medal**

The gold medal is named after Bernard Lewis (1899-1993), a founding member of The Combustion Institute. As a physical chemist in the Chief Explosives and Physical Sciences Division of the U.S. Bureau of Mines in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Lewis was a pioneer in theoretical and experimental combustion research. In this position Lewis directed research in combustion, flames, explosions, and explosives. Lewis' lifetime of work and his passion to help young scientists shaped the modern field of combustion research.

### Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal

The gold medal is named after Sir Alfred C. Egerton (1886-1959), the first chairman of the British Section of The Combustion Institute. As a professor at the Imperial College of Science and Technology, Egerton was an acknowledged leader in Britain among scientists engaged in research in the field of combustion, explosions, and flame. In his later career, Egerton devised with his students, a flat-flame burner configuration that advanced flame measurements under ideal conditions for combustion scientists around the world.

#### Ya. B. Zeldovich Gold Medal

The gold medal is named after Yakov Borisovich Zeldovich (1914-1987), a pre-eminent Soviet physicist. His far-reaching scientific achievements spanned many fields ranging from physical chemistry to nuclear and particle physics, and finally astrophysics and cosmology. Zeldovich worked on the theory of ignition, combustion, and detonation. He achieved important results in the theory of nuclear chain reactions. He also discovered an oxidation of nitrogen mechanism, known in physical chemistry as Thermal NO Mechanism or the *Zeldovich Mechanism*.

#### Jürgen Warnatz Gold Medal

The gold medal is named after Professor Jürgen Warnatz (1944-2007), a former managing director of the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing (IWR) at Ruprecht Karls University, Heidelberg, Germany. He also served as a chair of the German Section of The Combustion Institute. Warnatz pioneered a research approach on modeling and simulation of chemical reactive flows, particularly looking at the molecular reactions involved and transport processes. His life's work and publications influenced the application of combustion science around the world.

More information and complete listings of past recipients can be found on each respective gold medal's award page on The Combustion Institute website: CombustionInstitute.org.